Committee membership

How committees work

The elected Council meets on a six-weekly cycle and is responsible for community leadership and setting the policy direction for Upper Hutt City. In undertaking its democratic activities the Council strives to have a fully informed community, the majority of which is satisfied with the elected Council’s performance.

All recommendations made by standing committees must be confirmed by the Full Council, attended by the Mayor and all members of Council. Some matters are only discussed at Full Council, including adopting of Annual and Long Term Plans, the review of the rating system, the levying of rates, and matters relating to the employment of the Chief Executive.

The Upper Hutt City Council Committees Terms of Reference sets out which powers can be delegated to committees and which are retained by Full Council.

The Standing Orders(PDF, 2MB) for meetings of Upper Hutt City Council outline the rules and procedures for meetings of committees.

Terms of reference

The terms of reference for Council committees(PDF, 327KB) set out the principal areas for which Council maintains overall responsibility. They also set out the delegations of Council functions, duties and powers to Council committees, panels and groups.

Committee structure

Upper Hutt City has five standing committees. Membership of a committee is not restricted to Councillors. 

Standing committees

  • City Development Committee: Mayor, Crs Wheeler (Chair), Bentley, Carson, Griffiths, Lambert, McLeod, Swales and Ultra

  • Finance and Performance Committee: Mayor and all members of Council, Cr Carson (Chair)

  • Policy Committee: Mayor and all members of Council, Cr Griffiths (Chair)

  • Risk and Assurance Committee: Mayor, Crs Taylor (Chair), Bentley, Carson, Griffiths, Swales and Sarah Brownlie as an independent member

  • Hearings Committee: Mayor, Crs Bentley, Griffiths, McLeod, Newell, Swales and Wheeler

Additional committees, decision making bodies, and steering groups

Upper Hutt City has additional committees, decision making bodies, and steering groups to support Council in making decisions. They consist of elected members, experts, professionals, government employees, community representatives, or council staff.

Other Committees

  • Chief Executive Committee: Mayor, Crs Carson, Griffiths, Swales and Wheeler

  • Civic Awards Selection Panel: Mayor (Chair), Crs Newell and Ultra

  • Community Grants Committee: Crs Bentley (Chair), Griffiths and Newell

  • Creative Communities New Zealand Upper Hutt Arts Funding Assessment Committee: Crs Lambert and Ultra

  • District Licensing Committee: Mayor, External Commissioner (Chair), Crs Bentley, Griffiths, McLeod, Swales and Wheeler

  • Emergency Committee: Mayor and all members of Council

  • Hutt Valley Services (Joint) Committee: Mayor, Crs Newell (Chair), Carson, Lambert and Swales

Other decision making bodies

  • Contracts Group: Mayor (Chair), Crs Carson, McLeod and Swales

  • Economic Stimulus Panel: Mayor (Chair), Crs Carson, Griffiths, Swales and Wheeler

  • Sustainability Stimulus Grant Disbursement Panel: Mayor (Chair), Crs Girffiths, McLeod and Swales

  • Temporary Road Closures for Events Group: Mayor (Chair), Crs Carson, Lambert and Ultra

Steering groups

  • Arts and Heritage Group: Mayor, Crs Lambert, McLeod, Swales and Taylor

  • Business and Economic Development Group: Mayor, Crs Carson, Griffiths, Newell, Swales, Taylor and Wheeler

  • Environmental working/steering Group: Mayor, Crs Lambert, McLeod, Taylor and Ultra

  • Sports Recreational working/steering Group: Mayor, Crs Bentley, Carson, Griffiths, Lambert, Ultra and Wheeler

Representation on external committees and sub-committees

The Council appoints members to represent it on a number of external organisations, including the following:

  • Civil Defence Emergency Management Joint Committee: Mayor

  • Hutt Valley Floodplain Management Subcommittee: Mayor, Crs Griffiths and Wheeler

  • Orongomai Marae Community Centre Trust: Mayor

  • Regional Transport Committee: Mayor, Cr Swales as an alternate

  • Remutaka Hill Road Committee: Mayor and Cr Ultra

  • Safe Hutt Valley: Mayor and Cr Griffiths

  • Wellington Regional Amenities Joint Committee: Mayor

  • Wellington Region Climate Change Forum: Mayor Guppy and Deputy Mayor Swales as alternate

  • Wellington Regional Strategy Committee: Mayor, Cr Swales as an alternate

  • Wellington Waste Forum: Cr McLeod (Chair), and Cr Taylor

  • Wellington Water Committee: Mayor, Swales as an alternate

  • Zone 4 Local Government Association: Mayor and Cr Lambert