New councillors sworn in at Upper Hutt City Council Triennial Meeting

Published on 31 October 2019

Upper Hutt City Council group photo 2019

The 2019 local body elections saw a change of three councillors at Upper Hutt. The Triennial meeting to swear in the new Council was held at Expressions Whirinaki on Wednesday 30 October at 3.00 pm.

The meeting included a welcome from representatives of Ōrongomai Marae, Te Rūnanga o Toa Rangatira, Te Atiawa, and the Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust. Council’s Māori Cultural Group also performed waiata at the event in support of the speakers.

Chief Executive Peter Kelly swore in Wayne Guppy for his 7th term as Mayor of Upper Hutt (8th term on Council). As part of the meeting, Mayor Guppy also appointed Councillor Hellen Swales as Deputy Mayor.

Councillors were sworn in alphabetically by declaration with Councillor Angela McLeod declaring in Te Reo.

Cr Dylan Bentley

Cr Chris Carson

Cr Blair Griffiths

Cr Paul Lambert

Cr Angela McLeod

Cr Heather Newell

Cr Hellen Swales

Cr Steve Taylor

Cr Tracey Ultra

Cr Dave Wheeler

Council committee structure and membership will be decided at next week’s extraordinary Council meeting on Wednesday, 6 November.


An image accompanies this news release

Upper Hutt Mayor, Wayne Guppy (centre) with 2019 elected councillors (left to right): Blair Griffiths; Paul Lambert; Dave Wheeler; Angela McLeod; Tracey Ultra; Heather Newell; Hellen Swales (Deputy Mayor); Chris Carson; Dylan Bentley; and Steve Taylor.



Tagged as: