Young Achievers Awards


Each year Council hosts the Young Achievers Youth Civic Awards. The awards are an opportunity to acknowledge the achievements and successes of young people in Upper Hutt.

There are seven award categories in total, as follows:

Capital Training Resilience Award: celebrating an inspiring person who has overcome personal challenges, winner receives a $500 grant kindly sponsored by Capital Training

Expressions Whirinaki Arts Award: celebrating a person who demonstrates excellence and passion in the arts, winner receives a $1000 grant kindly sponsored by Expressions Whirinaki Arts and Entertainment Centre

Youthtown Manaakitanga Award: celebrating a person who demonstrates kindness, caring, and compassion towards others, winner receives a spot on the annual Winter Snow Camp kindly sponsored by Youthtown

Leadership Award: celebrating a local leader who has made a significant contribution to the Upper Hutt Community

Kaitiaki Award: celebrating a local leader in environmental protection

Sports Award: celebrating a sports person with outstanding talent in their chosen sport who upholds a positive and respectful attitude

Mayoral Award: celebrating a person chosen by the Mayor. All finalists are considered for this award

2019 award winners

Winners of the 2019 Young Achiever Awards are listed below.

  • Resilience Award - Joseph Penno
  • Arts Award - Otaileiuupuoleaiga Betham
  • Manaakitanga Award - Charlotte Lawrence
  • Leadership Award - Dakota Scott
  • Sports Award - Joshua Donohue
  • Mayoral Award - Chelsey Edwards

 We also have a video of the 2018 awards. Click on the following link to watch it.

2018 Young Achiever Awards video