Civic awards

The Civic Awards acknowledge people who have volunteered their time to services that benefit residents or organisations in Upper Hutt.

Awards are made across a number of areas including community service, cultural affairs, education, recreation, environmental and youth activities. Recipients receive a certificate and medal presented to them by the Mayor at an Awards ceremony.

Make a nomination

Click on one of the tabs below for ways to submit your nomination.


Make a nomination using our online form, linked below.

Civic Awards Nomination Form


Make a submission by post. 

Step 1. Print and complete the form

Civic Award Nomination Form(PDF, 166KB)


Step 2. Post it

The completed nomination form and attachments can be sent at any time to:

ATTN Kerrie Falconer
Executive Assistant to the Mayor
Upper Hutt City Council
Private Bag 907
Upper Hutt 5140

In person

Submit your completed form in person. 

Step 1. Print and complete the form

Civic Award Nomination Form(PDF, 166KB)


Step 2. Drop it off

The completed nomination form and attachments can be brought to reception at Upper Hutt City Council.

838 – 842 Fergusson Drive
Upper Hutt
View open hours

About the awards

When are nominations taken?
Nominations can be received at any time of the year and will be held until required. Civic Award nominations for consideration in 2022 closed on 17 June 2022.

Completing the nomination form
Please complete the nomination form as supplied on this page. It is important that you provide as much information as possible about your nominee, and try to explain what their actual contribution in an area has been, as opposed to just listing jobs or posts held. 

Who qualifies?
Recipients of the award will be residents of Upper Hutt. Except in exceptional circumstances, an award will not be made to a person who has received other public recognition for the community service in the form of awards such as those conferred through the New Zealand Honours system. A person who has already received a Civic Award cannot receive it again.

Who should make the nomination?
A nomination must be signed by at least two residents of Upper Hutt, or if the nomination is from an Upper Hutt organisation, it must be signed by at least two executive members of that organisation. It is not necessary to obtain prior consent of the person being nominated. If a nomination is successful, the nominee will be contacted to ascertain whether he or she wishes to accept the award.

Who decides who should receive an award?
The Civic Awards Selection Panel is made up of the Mayor, two Upper Hutt City Councillors and two community representatives selected by the Council.

Are nominators advised once a decision is made?
Yes. Nominators will receive a letter advising whether the nomination has been successful.

Unsuccessful nominations
If a nomination is unsuccessful, you may submit the nomination in the following or future years. Unsuccessful nominations, or details of the people who nominated them will not be made public.

For further information, please contact:

Kerrie Falconer
Phone: (04) 527 2189


Civic Award Recipients

For a list of Civic Award recipients, click on the dropdown below.

View recipients

2021 Mr Thomas (Tom) Jones

2020 No awards were issued 

2019 Mr John Simister

2019 Ms Sarah Purdy

2018 Mr Evan Sayer

2017 Mrs Elizabeth Cook

2017 Mr Allan Sheppard

2017 Mrs Glennis Sheppard

2016  Mr Phil Grocott

2016  Mr Wayne Myers

2016  Dr Barry Wards

2015  Mr Ashley Bennett

2015  Mr David Butcher

2015  Mr Syd Giles

2015  Mr Arthur Speer

2014  Mr Ian James

2014  Mr Peter Owles

2013  Mr James W Noice

2011  Mr John Morrison

2009  Mr Kevin Adams

2009  Mrs Clare Derby

2007  Mrs Sue Millar

2007  Mr Colin Gething

2003  Mrs Adrianne Chandler

2003  Mr Michael Aamodt

2003  Mr Francis Stevenson

2001  Mr Peter Richardson

2000  Ms Roz Brown

2000  Mr Vivian Ruka

1999  Mr Bruce Bold

1999  Mr Donald Whiteman

1998  Mr Tom Wood

1995  Mr Douglas Ormrod

1995  Upper Hutt Cosmopolitan Club

1994  Mr Richard Fellows

1994  Mrs Audrey Harper

1993  Mr Leonard Edwards

1993  Mr John Philipson

1992  Mr Joe Cochrane

1992  Sister Mary Constance

1992  Mr Jock McEwen

1992  Mr Keith Stewart

1991  Mrs Joan Atkins

1991  Mr Gavin Bucknell

1991  Mrs Elizabeth Golightly

1991  Mr Bill Hack

1990  Upper Hutt Citizens Advice Bureau

1990  Mrs Margaret Walker

1990  Mr Mervyn Walker

1989  Miss Mavis Adlam

1989  Mr Eddie Just

1989  Mr Eric Marsh

1989  Mrs Nan Marsh

1988  Mrs Heather Small

1988  Mrs Norma Weddell

1987  Mrs Elizabeth Garratt

1987  Mr Norman Griffin

1987  Mr Jack Wilson

1987  Mrs Lily Wilson

1986  Mr Eric Hamlet Brown

1986  Mr Gordon James Hamilton

1985  Mrs Mary Richardson

1985  Mr Harry St Johnston

1985  Mr Graham Stokes

1985  Mr Leonard Robert Stringer